The percentage of overweight children in western countries has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the possible causes and effects of this disturbing trend and offer a solution.

Obesity has become a matter of concern, for a few years all over the world. In the urban nations, the number of people gaining weight has increased by 20% in the decade. This essay will shed light on reasons, and outcomes and will suggest some possible solutions in the following paragraphs. To begin with, the first and foremost reason is the excessive intake of fast food among youngsters. To explicate it, in normal cases, both parents are doing 9 to 5 jobs due to which they have less time to cook food at home, thus, prefer to order from outside. This ready-made food become very common in families, especially children, eventually. Furthermore, a sedentary lifestyle is another factor which leads to obesity. To make it clearer, nowadays, children are habitual of playing video games online rather than performing physical activities outside. Therefore, individuals are more likely to gain weight in this situation. There are many bad outcomes of this trend. Firstly, extra consumption of oily food leads to many harmful diseases such as asthma, heart diseases, and higher cholesterol levels. Eating too much street food on a regular basis can also lead to death gradually. Secondly, spending time on remote games only allows less interaction with their friends and family which weakens the bond between them. Moreover, extra screening time has a bad impact on the eyesight of pupils, so, on academics. Lastly, children will have fewer job opportunities in the future. In other words, they will face difficulties in finding jobs because some jobs are more demanding and find physically fit employees. The government should take some strict action to mitigate this problem, the prominent one is they should ban the production of cheap market food. Also, the higher authority should introduce school seminars regarding the importance of extracurricular activities in schools along with academics. Moreover, parents should be encouraged to motivate their children to participate in physical activities. In conclusion, although over-reliance on junk food and a sedentary lifestyle are the main reasons which have serious effects on health and friendship, however, the authorities can introduce effective ways to tackle this problem.