In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Gaping a year before entering universities is becoming more and more common. Some assert that youngsters can add various differentiators to their resume during the year, while others provoke that they will slip a year behind their counterparts. This essay will discuss both pros and cons of such behavior. On one side, there are multiple upsides of having a year break. To begin with, adolescents can prepare a decent and interesting resume if they utilize this period to participate in volunteer projects or gain working experience. These outstanding involvements will differentiate them from ordinary schoolboys and hence increase their chances of successful admission. What's more, they can acquire a plethora of social soft skills, including communication skills and problem-solving skills. Unlike the peaceful study environment, it requires more sophisticated manners to deal with numerous issues out in the world. Subsequently, a gap year provides them opportunities to obtain on-hand experience. On the other side, some people are concerned because of the downsides. Firstly, the young adults may be a year behind the race of life. Although they spare a year to improvise themselves, they may miss the first rungs of the career ladder which may affect their self-esteem negatively when they acknowledge their friends have become senior management personnel. Secondly, as they are green to adulthood, they may face diverse risks. For instance, they may be deceived or deprived since they are not used to signing legal documents prior to employment. Therefore, it may be hazardous for them to dip a toe into the community in advance. To conclude, there are advantages, as well as disadvantages for teenagers to pause pursuing tertiary education. Juveniles should weigh them out thoroughly and seek advice from parents and teachers.