Although many people value their public parks, this space could be better used for other purposes such as residential areas for the ever-growing population or to develop business and boost economies. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

Overpopulation is becoming an ever serious problem that both developing and developed countries are facing. Although many people are interested in protecting their public parks, the rate at which cities are becoming overpopulated makes them question whether this space can be used for better purposes like building more residential housing or maybe even use it to build up companies headquarters. I don't agree with this notion, and I will substantiate my reasoning in the course of this essay. First and foremost, it is a scientifically proven fact that public parks can help an individual, both mentally and physically. They help reduce stress and are very relaxing on the eyes. They also help produce good clean air which helps improve the lives of citizens. An important point to remember is that in one year a mature tree will absorb more than 48 pounds of carbon dioxide from the atmosphere and release oxygen in exchange. Furthermore, public parks areas help to attract a variety of bird species which can provide a soothing effect, and attract bird enthusiasts. For example, Dubai is a city with an ever-growing population, with many migrants entering the city to look for work. Rather than remove their public parks, what the city has done, is they have instead started using sections of the desert, and create them in such a way that they can be used as a residential complex. However, this also has a flaw. If you choose to keep the public parks and relocate the residential complexes away from the city centres it increases the transportation time and thereby becomes less desirable for many families as all the schools and corporate offices are in the city centre. In conclusion, although overpopulation is prevalent in society in large numbers, it is very important that the mental and physical health of the people living in and around urban areas are taken care of. Removing public parks and replacing them with residential complexes does not help in that.