In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe that it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there. What is your opinion about this?

Overpopulation has caused various problems and one of which is the housing issue. Many people urge the government to build new homes in the countryside as there are no spare areas for new development, whereas some environmentalists provoke the idea and assert to conserve the environment. This essay inclines to the latter notion and will discuss both views with explanations. On one hand, some citizens welcome new condominiums built in the countryside as it has not been developed. After years of development, there leaves inadequate place to sit new accommodation blocks. Most of the land is occupied with existing architectures, recreational constructions and undergrounds, which makes the urban area the only alternative. For example, the Hong Kong government has been suggesting to exploit the fringe of country parks in order to tackle the problem of insufficient housing supply. Subsequently, they find it the perfect destination to start the construction. On the other hand, numerous habitats oppose this suggestion as they believe the terrain should be protected. According to a plethora of researches and journals, it often takes over a hundred years to reverse the damages made by the human. In addition, even if there are remedies for the destruction, what has been destroyed is destroyed. If the developers clear the forest, there is no way to recreate the same environment for the animals and vegetation. The new housing estate in Tin Shui Wai is a prime example, where the population of birds is found decreasing since the high-rise buildings are obstructing their migrating route. Therefore, new homes should be kept in rural areas. To conclude, bare land in the countryside is the easiest to-go option for urban planning, but it will disturb the ecosystem and pose dangers to wildlife. Although it is a hot potato, all stakeholders should participate in this and provide creative and sustainable ideas so that both overpopulation and housing matters can be managed.