Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As we all know, adolescents act like the backbone of our world. Regarding this fact, many people put an argument forward that teenagers should do community work without any salary in their leisure time, and it may be beneficial to them and society as well. I agree with this statement with some considerations which will be presented in the continuation of the essay. On the one hand, volunteer activities will develop numerous precious values in teenagers like responsibility, teamwork spirit, problem-solving, and many others. These unpaid works may not bring them income but instead, give them a more realistic perspective of the job commitment for the future. Moreover, this will be made possible to fill some positions that do not require a full-time employee with young ones. Thus, local authorities like the mayor can reduce the budget expenditure and invest it in the more crucial areas. On the other hand, I believe it is not morally right to declare these activities as a rule that must be obeyed and subsequently considering penalties for rogue ones. To be specific, all of the privileges of a volunteer action rely on free will. To illustrate, we are forcing a high school student to cope in a charity event for Vietnam’s veterans against his tendency. In this situation, not only does he not obtain any experiences, but even he may despise any soldier forever because of one single bad memory. All in all, it is crystal clear that involving in nonprofit works has various advantages for adolescents and the community. However, I firmly believe it is vital to be done by free will to acquire the best outcome.