Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

While some schools of thoughts opine that abroad language skills shall be commenced for the students in their primary education, according to me, placing it into secondary or higher secondary levels could inevitably prove to be advantageous. For those who believe that learning a foreign language at primary level derives constructive benefits would argue that children can develop language skill and professionalism. This shall enhance their will to prepare for the competitive world with respect to diverse culture. For instance, many European institutes have laid a foundation course on inculcating a foreign language like Japanese and Korean. This is due to the belief that at a younger age, brain stimulates faster, resulting in grasping definite and better prospects of knowledge. Therefore, introducing such courses at initial years of schools attributes to embedding a professional expertise. On the other hand, if my thoughts are to be believed, I certainly advocate to disseminate language courses from the lower standards by either making it optional or eliminating totally. This is because it can inexplicably sideline the core subjects such as Maths and Science, thereby hindering progress of students in a long run. To quote an example, if recent study is to be considered, more than average number of students perform satisfactory in the preliminary subjects due to lack of focus and extra burden of complementary lectures, consequently turning their back from futuristic goal. Thus, the opportunity of learning overseas languages can be thought of in the later stages of their lives. In conclusion, although learning distinct languages curate immense benefits considering age factor and skill development, I reckon that enabling such course in the secondary section could not only aid in being attentive to primary subjects but also prove to be considerate for the children.