Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? What are the effects on society and family life?

In this day and age, an increasing number of youngsters in several nations around the world are postponing their parenthood. In this essay, the reasons for this trend, as well as its impacts on the community and family life, will be given out. To commence with, the main cause of this situation is for the young to have a desire to develop their career paths and have a stable income before having children, which prevents them from achieving that. It is undeniable that raising a child requires not only a lucrative amount of money but also a huge amount of time and effort, which makes it extremely hard for parents to take a rest, let alone climbing up their career ladder. As a result, it is becoming more commonplace for young adults to bear children late in their lives, especially for those who have a potential job. Subsequently, it is impossible to go against the idea that this trend has both adverse and beneficial impacts on the public and the lives of individuals. In terms of advantages, it allows people to make the most of their talents, which eventually contributes to the economic growth of the nation. Nonetheless, in the long term, this will hinder a lack of workforce in the future, making it an issue for the government to deal with and slowing down national development. As for individuals, late pregnancy is detrimental to the health of not only the mother but also her offspring. For example, if a woman gives birth to a child when she is 35 or above, there is a high possibility that the child will have poorer health, compared to his fellows, or be vulnerable to mental illnesses. In some extreme cases, late pregnancy can even result in miscarriage. In conclusion, the young generation today ignores early parenthood in the favour of developing their career. Consequently, although there are some benefits, this has led to numerous downsides in both society growth and family life, namely shortage of workers and a higher chance of poor health in newborns.