The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people believe that science must be dedicated to enhancing people ’s lives. In this essay, I will emphasize more on why I completely agree with that opinion. Firstly, looking back to history we see how science has improved. The lives of various civilizations and led to their continual. Whereas ancient Egyptians used their knowledge in architecture, medicine, and chemistry to make their life easier, nowadays people have used their advancement in technology to create a modern civilization where all aspects of life have become much easier relative to the old times. For example, before the invention of telephones, people had to travel to cities or even countries to visit each other, unlike today where you can do your business or talk to your loved ones with a click. Secondly, science used for other purposes leads to disasters. To illustrate, countries used scientists to help them create destructive military weapons such as nuclear weapons. These weapons were used to erase entire cities from the map, killing millions of people and destroying entire economies. On the other hand, when developed countries used their scientific supremacy in construction and medicine, skyscrapers, bridges, and roads were constructed, increasing the country’s economy and improving the overall quality of life. Moreover, it is noticeable that with a higher literacy rate, lower death rates among both children and the elderly appear. In conclusion, the main purpose of any knowledge must be to increase the quality of people ’s lives in order to avoid morose results and to work on developing all aspects of life.