Many animals are being hunted to the brink of extinction in order to fulfill the demand and greed of mankind for decorative purposes as well as for other reasons, such as traditional medicine. How can this issue be tackled?

Overpopulation is having devastating effects on the earth's natural resources. Coupled with the overpopulation, is mankind's tenacious greed to possess the most unique of objects, and in many cases animals. Although many measures can be taken to prevent the near extinction of many animal species, the most important one is human compassion. As mentioned earlier, overpopulation is a major world issue, and as we deplete the existing natural resources, we need to make room for more facilities to accommodate the ever-growing number of people. For instance, deforestation in the Amazon is happening at an alarming rate, to meet the growing amount of wood requirements for housing and paper. This, in turn, destroys the natural habitat of many endangered species, which results in many of them dying out as their natural habitat and their food sources are drying out. In addition to this, there is the ever-present threat of poaching, which affects animals such as rhinos and elephants, as they are mainly hunted for their ivory, as it is a prized asset in many countries as it can be seen as a sign of wealth. Furthermore, the tiger populations in many Asian countries are vastly getting depleted as their bones are being used in traditional medicine for instance in countries like China. As of now many countries, in Africa for example have established wildlife sanctuaries void of much human involvement other than rangers to discourage poaching of wild animals. In addition, proper airport security checks need to be put in place, to avoid the smuggling of wild animals. Proper monthly censuses must be carried out on animals for example tigers, to keep track of numbers in existence, and the government needs to impose stricter fines and imprisonment for culprits involved in this trade. Lastly, governments must abolish the law which allows citizens to keep exotic animals as pets. This act is prevalent in the United States, and also in many Emarati countries, where the ruling family is often seen to be showcasing their exotic pet collectin. In conclusion, human intervention is seen as the only way to stop the slow demise of the animal species of this planet, as if nothing is done now, the only way future generations will learn about these animals is through photos and other reading material.