There seems to be an increasing number of serious crimes being committed each year. While some think that the best way is to use the death penalty as a deterrent, many people believe that other measures will be needed. Discuss the both views.

People have different ideas about whether to put the death punishment on some serious misbehaviours. While those criminals deserve death, other methods should also be thought about in case of some special situations. On one hand, when someone who commits murdering or killing is sentenced to die, it is a great comfort to the relatives who lose the beloved one. What's more, the death penalty can arouse citizens' awareness of following legal rules and regulations, exerting positive influences on society. Finally, making bad guys who are against the law seriously die is a way to show the justice of the law and equality of human rights. On the other hand, there are some situations where the misbehaviours happen accidentally or are forced to do. For example, if a person happens to kill the man who tried to murder him, should he be punished by the death decision directly? It is not only a serious crime, but also a way to defending oneself. Furthermore, it is hard to imagine what will happen if different types of bad crimes all lead to death. As criminals know their final results, they may do the bad thing in a more serious way or commit more than one heavy crime without any hesitation since all of them will end up with the death penalty. Finally, sons or daughters may feel sorry for their parents' crimes while still hating those who agree to give death to their parents. They may revenge for their parents. In conclusion, many aspects should be considered before sentencing a criminal to death. While the death penalty is a heavy punishment, other legal measures sometimes may also work.