Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Imposing longer prison sentences is seen as one of the most effective methods to decline criminals by some people. Meanwhile, others insist on other alternative ways in crime reduction. This essay will discuss both of the statements given, and then I will give my point of view. There are some reasons why giving longer prison sentences can affect the number of crime cases. First of all, prisoners who offended serious crime like arson, murder, deliberate injuring, terrorist, etc must be in hail long enough to self- critizise as well as realize what they have done. Besides, this way partly gives a warning to others who intend to commit a crime. Also, in that time prisoners will be directed and assigned several activities as vocational training such as planting trees, doing local crafts, learning to be a mechanic, a builder or a car fixer, which rehabilitate them after being released. Apart from extending prison time, many people still believe there are better different ways of reducing crime. The prisoners should not only be locked and kept but also convinced to be a law-abiding person, a good citizen by being offered educational program, such as conversations, some speeches, inspiration from specialists in crime psychological field. Last but not least, parents and schools have to observe and pay attention to the children's behviour, which would play an integral part in modifying manners and reducing crime in the future. For example, a child who is nurtured and educated in proper ways and receive enough understanding and instructions from others will be less likely to become a serious offender. In conclusion, early childhood education and deterrents during and after prison both matter. Therefore, education is much of a prerequisite thing among those methods mentioned above.