Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

For such sustainable development, many today suggest making recycling practices abided by laws. Although the introduction of principles to encourage citizens to recycle more effectively appears promising, it cannot disclaim the superior of investing in technology and launching awareness campaign approaches. Accordingly, I partly agree with the notion. On the one hand, people usually tend to ignore the importance of recycling since it takes so much time and is inconvenient. Once the government enforces law on waste recycling, citizens will take the green issues more seriously and pay more attention to recycling activities. If people are aware that they will be fined or punished if they do not comply with the recycling laws, they will be more responsible in categorized daily waste. This will progressively create a positive habit of protecting the surroundings, which contributes to a healthier environment. On the other hand, legislation is not the only measure to encourage people to recycle; education and awareness campaigns can equally bring many noteworthy achievements to solve this problem. For example, well-trained teachers should teach school students how the world's environmental issues are grave if they do not recycle. On social media platforms, the authorities can launch campaigns against the devastation of household garbage. Therefore, residents will become more alert about the trash crisis that the global is facing and more willing to participate in recycling. In addition, the government must make it easy for everyone to access the recycling facilities by establishing recycling units in all cities. In conclusion, enacting a recycling law can be beneficial, but this is not the sole method to encourage people to embrace this as a good habit to preserve the planet.