In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations

In many emerged counties, the expected average life duration has increased. But, this has adverse effects on individuals and society at the same time. A few of these impacts and measures to cure the same, has been discussed in the following paragraphs. An increase in life expectancy necessarily means the older population in the country which directly impacts the employment rates for the upcoming generations. Higher age expectancy will provoke the government to employ its citizens for a longer period of time which ultimately will consume its resources which otherwise, would have been used to create more employments for a new generation. Other than this, as a society, it will create a huge burden on natural resources available. As the death rates will steep, more land will be required to occupy the bursting population. Thus, ultimately leading to the depletion of forest land. For example, according to the national survey, humans are cutting 500 trees with everyone minute that passes by. Nevertheless, there are some measures which if taken, will reduce the impact of this adversity. Firstly, the retirement age should be decreased by at least 5 years as it will vacant the job seats for the upcoming generation faster and hence, will lift the employment rate. Secondly, innovative real estate plans and techniques should be provoked by the private and government firms as it will help to solve the problem of accommodating the growing population by judiciously consuming available natural resources. Finally, the government should invest extensively in health infrastructure and make it affordable for all especially, for the older people as with time, they will have lesser means of income and more dependency on retirement perks. In the end, problems and measures stated in the above paragraphs can help developed countries to tackle the situation with well-formulated policies and can lead them to a brighter future.