Some people say that a gap year between school and university is good idea ,while others disagree. Discuss both views and give opinion.

Each year new students graduate from their schools and decide to further pursue their educations. However, it is evident that choosing from a plethora of programmes offered by universities is of the hardest choices each student has faced. Therefore, some people argue that having a one year gap before entering university, could help them clear their minds and subsequently choose easier. On the other hand, others state that by doing this, they would be left behind from their peers which is a huge disadvantage. Nevertheless, I opine with the former and believe that its benefit outweighs the demerit. To commence with, most of us are familiar with the pressure and overwhelming stress that students could experience after they finish high school as they now face a dilemma of choosing a field of study. For instance, after I'd started my studies as a Business Management student, not only I felt discontented but also I was severely depressed by all the pressure due to the university entrance exams and the process of choosing that specific field. Nonetheless, I've changed my studies and have enrolled in computer science. Thus, in my opinion, it could be greatly helpful for me to experience that field first -hand before committing to it to see whether it was a good fit for me or not. In other words, in general, this one year gap could favour the students to unravel the situation and help them to choose easier while avoiding unnecessary stress. On the contrary, other people state the fact that by postponing their entrance, they would be left behind comparing their peers. Since nowadays the working world is a competitive environment, it is of the utmost importance to be able to present yourself. Therefore, even a one year experience would hugely favour the outcome. Hence it would be wise to start your undergraduate studies as soon as possible. To conclude, differing university enrolment has the benefit of choosing an academic path with a clearer mind in addition to preventing experiencing an intense amount of pressure. Conversely, it would lead to a one year gap in our resume and consequently, a disadvantage in our competition in job seeking situations. I, personally, believe that the merits outweigh the disadvantages and a year wouldn't cause an undesired outcome.