Many people decide on a career path early in their lives and keep to it. This, they argue, leads to a more satisfying working life. To what extent do you agree with this view?

Many believe that choosing their career early leads to a satisfying life because it gives them a strong sense of security. Others struggle with identifying their passions early on and are likely to find their path later in life. I agree with those who consider flexibility one of the most important human traits, as it allows people to take the time they need to discover their path. On the one hand, people who have clear ideas about their working future early on are likely to experience a sense of security and satisfaction in their career, as it represents what they have always aspired to do from the beginning. In fact, it is common for children who demonstrate their passions from a young age to make good choices about their profession with determination and satisfaction. This often translates into professional success and stability. On the other hand, most people need time to discover their potential and their professional path, therefore it is essential for them to experience a variety of educational and work situations, as it is crucial to understand what suits them best. For instance, recent research by the Italian National Institute of Research (ISTAT) shows that over 65% of young students who are choosing their university path are not only uncertain about their future career, but also unsure of what to study. This is why I think that planning our future too early might lead to an unhappy life; therefore, it is better to stay open to emerging opportunities. For these reasons, I am convinced that those who have not discovered their interests yet should face different experiences, gaining the possibility to discover what aligns with their inclinations. In my opinion, discovering our ideal career often occurs naturally, and we just need time to find the right direction.