The film is a less important form of art and literature. To what extent do you agree

It is a broad opinion that films are a notch below the most common forms of art and literature such as paintings or books. I strongly disagree. I believe that films have the same artistic value as both writings and drawings. Films, today, is the most popular form of art. What I believe is the most important part of films is the access that we all have to them and how they belong to people. It may be the cinemas, online streaming networks or even DVDs, though they’re out of date, they’re still more accessible to the public in general. People rush to get tickets. People celebrate the birth of new films by their favourite stars and somehow feel like they belong to them. Film critics are everywhere, you do not need a certain value or social status to talk about a film. Films belonging to the people. Furthermore, films are relatable. Films also give out social messages that make us aware of what’s happening around us. They talk about topics that are taboo. Topics that are not easily said out loud by any other art form or even by ourselves, yet films portray them beautifully helping us understand the unsaid problems. I do not think gay pride or caste discrimination would have been a very commonly spoken topic nowadays if not for films. However, I do realise that films have deviated people from reading books or visiting the museum. I do know that history, traditional or cultural artforms are diminishing. But I also think as technology grows, we should embrace it and be more accepting of the fact that newer technologies or art forms such as films have a lot of value too. To sum up, I strongly believe that films are no less in value than any other kind of art form. They are more accessible, relatable and belong to the people more than any other art form.