Supermarkets should only sell food produced from within their own country rather than imports from overseas.

Nowadays supermarkets offer food from everywhere. There are people who claim that these shops should only sell local products instead of offering options from other parts of the world. While importing food from other countries has its cons like a bigger footprint, it also allows people to eat the food that they want. Firstly, it is true that when food is brought from other parts of the world, the footprint of producing that product  increases. For example, the meat that is produced for consumption, if it has to travel thousands of miles, the foodprint of having made this is much bigger than if it is brought from local crops. On the other hand, some of the food that society eats more does not grow everywhere. It has to be bought from other countries. Even though bananas do not grow in the UK, they are part of our diet so supermarkets have to offer it because if not people will go to a place where they can find what they want. In addition to this, one of the biggest reasons to offer food from overseas is because is cheaper than the one that is produced in the UK. This gives people access to some food that they could not afford if shops only offer local food because there are not enough cows in the UK for everybody so they have to buy it from countries that have more. In conclusion, People should try to buy food from their own areas because is better for the planet but also at this moment is not possible because our needs are bigger than what our lands can offer.