Some people think that secondary school children should study international news as one of the school subjects. Other people think that it is a waste of valuable school time. What do you think? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Few people opine that world news should be a part of the curriculum of the high school children as it helps the students to know the important happenings across the world. However, most of the public consider that to be a mere waste of time. In my opinion, although being updated with the international news is beneficial, it doesn't have to be included in the curriculum and it can be followed in televisions or via internet in the free time The people who wish to include the international news as of one the school subjects are usually of the opinion that being aware of the situations and developments of other countries broadens the knowledge of the student, especially to crack civil services. However, not every student will be interested in knowing the current affairs of other countries. Additionally, including such subjects in the curriculum might trigger boredom and the students might not be able to concentrate on other subjects as this subject involves a lot of memorizing and rote learning. Instead of adding this as part of the schedule, it will be good to conduct discussions or debates among the students on this topic. Students should be encouraged to choose a topic, research in-depth and share it with other students in their class in the presence of the teacher. Moreover, conducting such exercises help the students develop a habit of reading the newspapers to be on top of the latest information which helps to develop their linguistic abilities. Moreover, discussing and participating in debates helps to develop a rapport among the students as well as improve their soft skills to a great extent. Personally, in my secondary school, we used to have a time slot dedicated to discussing the international news and it helped us a lot in the longer run. To conclude, adding international news as a subject might not be very useful and there are other better methods to improve the general knowledge of students. Schools should encourage students to develop a habit of reading and keeping themselves constantly updated by telling them the importance of this exercise.