Some people think it is more important for the government to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on the treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Health has always been a topic of interest of the public. Today, there has been an arising argument that authorities should prioritize raising communal awareness about following a healthy lifestyle over providing treatment for patients, in terms of national funding. From my perspective, I lean toward this opinion for several reasons, which will be illustrated in this essay. To commence with, it is undeniable that government officials should support financially people who are suffering from diseases so that the health of not only the individuals but also of the community is improved. Additionally, it is a must for governments to care for the lives of their citizens, which includes healthcare services. Nonetheless, this is not an efficient strategy in the long run since the number of citizens with poor health will not decline, creating an economic burden for the whole nation in the future. Personally, I am convinced that investing in health campaigns is a more sufficient measure for the authorities to tackle health -related concerns as this eliminates the problem from its root. By doing this, people will gain deeper knowledge about health, as well as how to hinder illnesses and improve their quality of life. For example, learning about obesity can not only make people pay attention to their weight, but it also promotes people to adopt healthier eating habits and exercise more, which benefits all aspects of their lives in the long term. As a result, the illness rate will decrease, which reduce the financial burden of the government, leaving more money to develop other vital fields, such as technology or science. In conclusion, although it is necessary for the government to provide funds for people who are coping with health problems, this is not beneficial for long term national development. Thus, I am of the idea that public money should be used for health campaigns and encouraging citizens to maintain a healthy lifestyle.