More and more people are relying on the private car as their major means of transportation. Describe some of the problems over-reliance on cars can cause, and suggest at least one possible solution. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Nowadays, more and more people are owning a private vehicle for transportation, mainly due to the convenience it offers. There are various problems like increase in pollution and health issues, associated with increasing use of personal transport. Firstly, as the number of private vehicle owners increases there will be more strain on the enviornment due to pollution and congestion, for instance, as the number individuals owning a car increases, the traffic goes up, as a result the time for travel goes up resulting in high amount of carbon emission. Furthermore, as more number of vehicles are on the road, the government will be forced to expand roads, and thereby contribute to pollution. Secondly, there are many health related issues caused due to decrease in physical activities that happen when using other methods of transport, namely walking and cycling. Although there are many problems associated with over-reliance on private cars, these issues can be mitigated with simple initiatives from the administration. A proper infrastructure can be built for promoting cycling and walking everyday, for example, special lanes for cyclists and footpaths could be implemented in cities. Additional rules can be laid out to increase the use of public transport and car-sharing. To illustrate, “Odd-Even Rule” implemented by the ministry of Delhi, and additional taxes for owning a four-wheeler would restrain people from buying a vehicle. In summary, more and more people are relying on private vehicles for transportation. There are many consequences associated with this over-reliance on cars, namely, health issues and environmental pollution. However, these issues can be mitigated by certian initiatives from the governement.