More and more parents are allowing their children to play on computers and tablets as they think that children should learn technology skills. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, the issue related to digital disruption has attracted the public’s attention. Some people believe that sophisticated modern technologies are the greatest source of knowledges to adolescents, while others oppose that this development could be the nightmare for parents. In my point of view, I am inclined to believe that there are various merits, despite having some demerits. On the one side of the argument, firstly, computer skills obviously become an indispensable of our lives. What this means is that cutting-edge telecommunications have revolutionised the way we live. Thanks to the Covid-19 pandemic, for instance, youngsters inevitably are forced to study via virtual platforms, thus; it is essential to let them know how to use these gadgets effectively. Secondly, children totally gain plentiful benefits towards using computer programs or software when they are mature. This is because several organizations prefer the applicant to be excellent in advanced application such as Microsoft Office. In addition, the internet provides a wide range of knowledges, particularly in academic purposes. For example, Udemy is an American massive open online course provider aimed at professional adults and students. Turning to the other sides of the argument, the negative impacts cannot be overlooked. Initially, the hot-tempered theme eventually affects toddlers’ personalities. In other words, they significantly lack critical and emotional maturity leading them to inevitably absorb aggressive behaviours. Some research reveals that computer games such as GTA, Mad Max and Mortal Kombat are likely to increase offensive person’s though, feelings and manners owing to unsupervised visitation from parents. In addition, juveniles tend to be isolated person because of experiencing internet addiction disorder - a behavioral addiction characterized by compulsive, uncontrollable Internet use that interferes with daily life. In conclusion, I would like to reiterate the advantages of this matter far outstrip the disadvantages. Although there are potential drawbacks, they outweigh the positives. Therefore, parents should extol the virtue of the digital age by allowing their kids freely use up-to-date devices under supervision.