Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Food and drinks that contain a high amount of sugar can cause humans to have health problems such as obesity, diabetes, and heart disease. In order to encourage people to consume less sugar. It has been a suggestion that those sugary products should be more expensive, so people will purchase and consume less. However, in my point of view, this method is not effective and has disadvantages to both consumers and manufacturers. First of all, it can not be guaranteed that this method will work with every individual. People with good financial status will not be affected. They can still buy more and more products without noticing that the price has changed. On the other hand, people who have financial instability will suffer from this change. Many sugary foods and beverages are the basic need for their diets such like bread, pasta, and juice. Moreover, some of the ingredients are the costlier ones that they use to make things to sell for living. If we increase the price of those products it will create more load rather than make them healthy which make this solution barking up the wrong tree. Secondly, in terms of business, the manufacturer will face a sales decline issue. Although, some people argue that the producer will have the same sale amount because they can earn more income from the price that increased, most of the population are middle class and poor. Therefore, the loss will outweigh the income. In conclusion, raising the price will not be a successful method of persuading people to consume less sugar because it is not effective for everyone. Also, the producer will have drawback from losing income