Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Other believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

It is sometimes argued that young people in colleges should learn lessons which are more practical, like science and technology while some people hold the view of choosing their favourite subjects. People on different sides hold their own opinions. On one hand, majors related to science tend to be more popular when high school graduates apply for higher education institutions. Firstly, specialities like computer science, mathematics are more promising than some art studies, as those practical subjects can pay you back in a short time after graduation. Secondly, students who study science or technology are more likely to secure themselves a decent job as IT programmers, engineers are needed by almost every company. Finally, evaluations in technology majors are more objective as you can be judged and marked simply by paper tests, experiments results or theses while it is more subjective for an art scholar to get his score. However, chasing your favourite career brings more benefits. Actually, everyone is gifted, which means people are born to be experts in different fields. Not everyone is adaptable to science areas. By finding own interests and putting oneself on the right pathway leads to more sense of achievement and enjoyment. In addition, when a specific area is full of talented workers and thus the supply exceeds the demand, it actually means obscuring a job will be much more difficult. For example, many people pursue a job in I. T or C.S fields and they even change their majors in colleges to learn computer knowledge. As a result, there are much more I. T learners than needed. Job requirements in I. T positions also become higher. Last but not the least, humans only live their lives once. It is necessary to do the things we are passionate about and make our life colourful and meaningful. Don' t live with regret! In conclusion, when choosing the area which you may get along with for most parts of your life, you'd better follow your heart to lead a happier life.