Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Nowadays, there is a constant barrage of advertisements flooding every medium of communication and public venue. Advertisers have always worked hard to make sure that as many people as possible are exposed to their marketing campaigns. In my opinion, I believe that adverts are important to companies First, the purpose of any advert is to entice potential customers to buy the advertised product. Many marketing campaigns have become cultural phenomena and had lead to massive increases in sales for their respective products. For example, the "Just Do It" campaign by Nike has become so widespread to the point that those words have become synonymous with the brand itself. Moreover, this has lead people to recognize Nike as a sporting brand that they can think of when they wish to buy a new pair of running shoes. This is what is known as a "mindshare": the consumer's awareness of a product or brand. On the other hand, a lot of people blame the constant bombardment of ads for their increased spending on things they do not need. Advertisers usually play up the worth of their offering and create an atmosphere where a particular brand such as an iPhone becomes a status symbol, thus people fork over more money for items they do not need, or for which there are cheaper alternatives better suited for their needs. In conclusion, while I believe that advertisements are necessary for companies to introduce their latest and greatest offerings to potential buyers, one has to acknowledge that their ads are powerful influences on people, and have lead to an increasing number of people indulging in unnecessary purchases for status, fad or merely because the ad made the product look like an absolute must-buy.