Some feel that countries should produce most of the food that is eaten in their country and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Someone argues that countries should produce the food their citizens consume, and minimize the import from other countries. I understand that people may have concerns about importing food making their country relying on other countries on food industry which is a critical industry, but in such a peaceful world, and goods importing and exporting is so common nowadays, I don't agree with this opinion with the following reasons. First of all, not every country can produce enough food for itself, especially some small countries which don't have enough fertilized land. The cost of cultivating food is much higher than importing food from other countries. For example, Korea is a population-dense country, and it imports a lot of vegetables, pork, fruit from China, because China can provide a variety of food at a low price and it is close to Korea, it is a wise choice to do the deal. Secondly, some food is only available from certain countries, and they are very welcomed across the whole world, importing that food could provide more choice for people. Tropical fruits, for example, are very tasty food, but they can only be produced in countries in tropical regions like Thailand. It is almost impossible for countries like Japan to plant those fruits, and the most reasonable way to have the Japanese enjoy them is to import them from other countries. To conclude, I believe that if other countries can provide some food at lower cost, or some food welcomed by people but not available on the domestic farm, it is totally fine to import them.