Nowadays people are having difficulty in getting enough sleep. What do you think lack of sleep can cause and what should be done to control this problem?

In the modern world, people are experiencing difficulty in getting sufficient sleeping hours, because of their busy schedules. This essay will explore the effects of lack of sleep and will suggest some solutions regarding this issue. Lack of sleep can lead to a number of serious drawbacks. Firstly, it can cause severe fatigue and frustration, leading to dangerous health issues, for example, anxiety, depression and mood swings etc. Secondly, less sleeping hours can decrease a person's ability to work efficiently, for example, if a person is not getting enough sleep, he/she would not be able to understand the minor details of their office work, hence causing mismanagement and disturbance for others too. Certain crucial steps can be taken to control this problem. In order to have enough sleep, the Circadian rhythm must be followed properly. As cortisol level is the highest during the daytime, one must utilise this time for work and night should be spared for sleeping purpose. To illustrate the significance of this rhythm, researchers have proved via various randomised control trials that disturbance of the circadian rhythm can cause a significant rise in the risk of heart attacks and strokes. Also, people must ensure that they are getting atleast eight hours of sleep daily, as less than 8 hours sleep has been linked to compromised physical and mental health by a variety of researches. To fulfil this purpose, one must restrict his/her working hours and double shifts should be avoided to meet this demand. In conclusion, due to increased workload and busy schedules, a lot of people are getting less sleep, and hence their efficiency level and health has been negatively affected. In my opinion, a regular routine preferably, the circadian rhythm should be followed to minimise this problem.