For centuries, important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing and maths. With the advent of computers, some people think that computer skill be made as a fourth skill to be added to the list. To what extent do you agree?

Conventional education techniques focus on reading, writing, and maths, as these generally are the most commonly used subjects in our everyday lives. However, with the advent of computers, many people feel that computer skills should also be included in this list. I agree with this notion and will substantiate my reasoning in this essay. Firstly, computers have revolutionised corporate companies, with all companies now adopting this technology. In addition, companies always seek to update their systems with the latest technologies, so that they can stand out from the rest of the crowd. Teaching the basics of computer skills at the education level will help students know how to cope with such technological advancements, and thereby allow them to partake in corporate life. Furthermore, the introduction of a computers curriculum to the list will allow people from a poorer background to be able to have equal and fair job opportunities. For example, in Kerala, many people from destitute sections of society, are being taught the fundamentals of computers, so that they can make a living for themselves. Secondly, lack of any basic computer knowledge puts students at a serious disadvantage and can result in them feeling left out amongst peer groups. With a plethora of opportunities brought about by the advancement of computers and technologies, whether it be for professional, educational or even entertainment purposes the lack of these skills is seen as a serious snag. In conclusion, I agree with the idea of schools focusing on educating their students with regard to computers, as this skill will help them in years to come, as this advancement doesn't seem to be slowing down.