The government should spend more money on medical research to protect citizens' health rather than on protecting the environment. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a controversial notion heating a debate over the money allocation of the government whether to finance for medical research or environmental protection. In my point of view, while this idea is valid to some certain extent, it is optimal to balance both factors. It can not be denied that the government budget should be used to fund medical research because of some certain reasons. Evidently, there are many unprecedented pandemics that pose a strong threat to human health. For example, the current world’s situation is facing with the Covid-19 pandemic, which disease kill millions of residents in all over the world. This virus exacerbates directly to the human’s lung as well as lead people to die immediately. However, this illness does not have special medicine to treat. Due to that, the research for new medication is a significant concern that truly needs the supporting from the government budget. Finally, authorities should use their budget for developing medical research. While the redeeming features of funding for medical research are widely acknowledged, it is unfair if the money supporting for environmental protection is ignored. Currently, the deterioration of environmental quality is an alarming issue caused by human’s activities such as the toxic substances in wastewater. For example, a few years ago, the Formosa company in Ha Tinh, Viet Nam charged straightly their untreated wastewater to the ocean and damaged the marine ecology system. Therefore, the government have to reduce the deterioration of environmental quality by financing these company to treat their environmental problems. To sum up, both aspects need the support of the government budget. However, authorities have to balance these factors to avoid the budget's deficit.