ome people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Certain species in the world have become extinct and many are on the verge of extinction. However, although I agree that this is an important environmental problem, I do not believe that it is the most critical. On the other hand, the disappearance of any living species affects the environment. It is undeniable that every species on earth is a part of a delicate balance of the ecosystem. To illustrate, if a certain type of snake disappears, the number of mice that are the main food of snakes will increase. As a result, without the predator to control the number of mice, too many of them can lead to the destroying of corps and also an increase in the number of diseases which has mice as carriers. However, despite the obvious problem of extinction of a particular type of plants or animals, I still believe that water pollution is more urgent. While it takes time for species to become extinct, water pollution happens every day and its results can be seen quite rapidly. Many countries are encountering river and ocean pollution problems which are caused mostly at the hand of humans. Especially in countries with poor rubbish management, waste and garbage are dumped into a river and end up in the ocean. As a result, water becomes polluted and neither suitable for drinking nor marine animals to live in. These can lead to a serious food shortage in the future. Finally, the most worrisome environmental problem is global warming. Toxic fumes from industries, vehicles and farming contribute to releasing greenhouse gasses into the atmosphere and causing the temperature to rise in certain parts of the world. Consequently, many countries experience abnormal natural disasters such as flash floods and wildfires more than at any point in the history of mankind. These effects from global warming harm humanity directly whereas extinction of certain species has indirect effects. Thus, it is sensible to prioritise and focus on solving the global warming problem first. In short, While I agree that the loss of certain species of plants and animals is an important environmental issue, I still believe that water pollution and global warming are far more critical and urgent.