Some people think when recruiting companies should take aim to take on people who are innovative and able to work independently while others considered they should recruit people who are able to work in a team and follow instructions. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Innovative people can work independently. So by paying one person tasks can be accomplished rather than many employees who work in a team to complete the same task. However, the decision depends on the requirement of the company. In my opinion, hiring people who can work both independently and in a team is beneficial. Because, when in a team, the management has to pay wages to multiple workers. This essay will highlight both views. To commence with, hiring employees who work independently can deliver the same job that a team will do in the same time span. So these days recruiters do look for people who do not need to be dependent. When an employee has multiple skills he is considered an asset as it reduces the overhead of hiring a new resource. Also, the company need not spend time training because he might be experienced. Even though, the company has many advantages, there are disadvantages as well. For instance, if the member is unable to continue his work due to emergency reasons then it is tough for management to find a temporary replacement. As a result, they have to train another employee and have to bear the cost of training. Secondly, when the project is huge then a professional who can work in a team is considered over a person who can work independently. Not all the projects are huge and hence requires only maintenance. For example, small projects do not need a team but require a member who is independent. To conclude, the choice of candidate completely depends on the company's project demands. But, in my opinion, choosing people who can work independently as well as in a team is always a better option as they can be utilised for accomplishing both kinds of work.