Being able to speak a foreign language is an advantage these days. Some people think that children should start learning a foreign language at primary school, while others think children should begin in secondary school. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Speaking a foreign language is always considered a positive and it is always considered to be more beneficial to learn a foreign language when a pupil is young because when they are young it is easier for them to grasp it. However, it is debatable whether the learning should start at the primary or secondary level. On one hand, as mentioned earlier learning a foreign language at a young age is easier as compared to an adult, because children can pick up things in a faster manner. However, the problem with this is that children at a young age are expected to learn many things, and therefore they may feel overwhelmed and not pay too much attention to learning a foreign language. For example, when I was young growing up in Dubai, English as a language was enough to survive. Therefore, no matter how much my parents tried to teach me Malayalam, it would end up being a futile process. Alternately, if youngsters are taught foreign languages at a secondary school level, they are more likely to stick with it, because they realise the importance of it. They understand that if they know a foreign language, it will more likely help in their pursuits for a job. An instance of this, going back to the example mentioned above, now living in Kerala, where the mother tongue is Malayalam, I now realise the difficulty, because not all jobs require English as a language. Instead, they require Malayalam, which hampers my chances of landing a job. In conclusion, whilst I feel that learning a foreign language is important, I believe that the basics should be taught at the primary level and then it should be continued at the secondary level when the teenagers are old enough to understand the importance of learning an alternate language.