In some high schools part of the curriculum requires students to participate in community work such as helping the elderly or disabled. In what way do children get benefits from this? Do you think it should be part of the curriculum?

Education does not only mean learning about the basic skills to get a job, instead, but it is also about creating an individual to become a valid and contributive member of society. In this essay, we shall discuss the different ways how doing community work will help benefit pupils, and thereby come to a conclusion as to whether it is needed in the curriculum or not. First and foremost, getting involved in community services such as helping the elderly or disabled will help nurture a more empathetic character in the kids, which will help them in life, as they will not think twice about helping others in need. Alternately, being around elderly people will help give teenagers a better understanding of life and the struggles with which the elders had to face during their youth. Moreover, assisting elderly people will help the children understand the difficulties that many elderly people face. As many of today's youth live in nuclear families, they are less likely to understand the value a grandparent plays in a family. Furthermore, getting involved with disabled people will help give the youth perspective. An example of this is in Kerala, rash driving especially on motorbikes is a serious problem. Not only are the roads of very poor quality they are also very narrow and to make matters worse, but many of the bikers also travel without helmets. If such programs were introduced into the curriculum at these schools, pupils would be more understanding and thereby will comply will the rules and regulations. In conclusion, I believe that this should be included in the school's curriculum because as mentioned earlier, it encourages empathy, a feeling which no study material can teach a student. This is an extremely good quality because it can be passed down through generations creating a more tolerant society.