In some countries around the world men and women are having babies late in life. What are the reasons? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, men and women around the globe are having children late in life because of reasons that include pursuing careers and furthering their education. Although there are benefits like gaining financial stability and job growth, I believe there are more drawbacks such as decreasing population, low fertility rate and suppressed economic growth in the said countries. To begin with, people prefer to sire later in life as they want to grow in their professions. They believe that giving birth when they are entering the job market may affect their growth because they have to go for maternity leave, for example, for about one year or so; therefore, this will affect their job progression. Furthermore, some also tend to avoid having babies when they are young due to education factors, and going for a master’s or PhD, for instance, will take about two to six years, depending on the institution they go to. So, if they have young ones to take care of, they may not have adequate time to concentrate on their studies. Individuals, however, are able to gain financial stability at a very young age. They are in a position to make good money and invest in real estate or start businesses. Having financial freedom will enable them to save money for retirement, and at the same time, spend quality time with their children later on in life, as they will not be chasing money anymore. In addition to the above, young individuals will have an opportunity to climb the career ladder once they gain experience at work. This is something that they will not achieve in case they have breaks or other responsibilities like raising up children. On the other hand, having children, later on, affects the population of a country. The population of any nation will definitely decline. Most developing countries, for example, are facing these issues, and they have had to depend on immigration to sustain the population growth. The US, Canada, and Australia are good examples of such nations. Another problem is that it will slow down economic growth. Perhaps, this leads to a low level of taxes and job opportunities since there are few people to work in various sectors of the economy. In conclusion, there are many reasons why people decide to have babies at an advanced age, which include seeking career progression and higher education. Some benefits include securing a financial future, but there are disadvantages like decreased population and economic growth.