In Some Countries, Criminal Trials Are Shown On Television For Public. Do The Advantages Of This Outweigh The Disadvantages

The trials procedures in many situations draw a considerable amount of attention from media worldwide. However, there is an ongoing debate between two points of view of podcasting those trials on TV or not. In my perspective, I believe that the pros of present those cases in media outweigh the cons as we will discuss. As a starting point, undoubtedly, many crimes in the present times have developed and become more creative and devious. Hence, showing to the public that those ingenious defendants got caught by the justice system, will definitely deter many potential criminals by contemplating the possible repercussions. Secondly, the media has a powerful impact in monitoring the justice system and inspect any possible corruption from judges and juries. So not only these live trials will help society but also will prevent any degeneration. On the other hand, many opponents for showing those trials on television argue that it could make a huge distraction for both judges and the jury. Consequently, if the public opinion has sympathy towards the convict, it could lead to exoneration to the criminal. Certainly, this case is needed to consider as the duties of judges and jury are sacred creed and need to be free from any pressure from people. To conclude, many audiences nowadays are attracted to live trials, as a result many channels prefer to specialise segments to show those lawsuits. While there are some drawbacks to this trend, these podcasts are ripe with benefits to society and the justice system as well.