A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that the benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In the era of globalization, the scope of tourism has increased immensely and it also plays an integral role in the development of the nation's economy. However, the countries which know as famous tourist destinations, are prone to have detrimental natural effects and could disturb the local community. In my perspective, I believe the pros of this significant sector overbalance the cons if it manages properly as we will discuss. As a starting point, undoubtedly, many countries have achieved significant accomplishments in many fields thanks to the tourism industry. Firstly, this vital sector is a key source of employment in our world, alleviating joblessness which is a global pressing problem. A good illustration of this is the Maldives which the development of tourism fostered the overall growth of the economy, reducing drastically the number of unemployed among the population. Secondly, tourism has an undeniable cultural aspect that helps society to evolve and develop the needed skills. For instance, many indigenous people popular tourist attractions have developed their linguistic skills in order to interact with foreigners. But notwithstanding the side effects of tourism must be addressed. Many environmentalists warn about the deleterious impact of the huge flows of tourists in vulnerable areas like forests and jungles. Certainly, these will have negative effects on the animals dwelling there which could lead to the distinction of many species. For instance, the growing tourism sector in many African countries has harmful effects on endangered species like cheetah and elephants. Additionally, the large number of visitors to the city has made many residents abandon their town and live in the suburb or even in the countryside to escape the noise caused by the tourists. To conclude, the tourism industry has many benefits in our world nowadays, which could bring prosperity and welfare to the nation. However, the authorities should handle the drawbacks by encouraging ecotourism to preserve nature and protect the locals.