Nations should spend more money on skills and vocational training for practical work, rather than on university education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, many countries use a huge amount of money on providing lessons related to pragmatic skills, such as video editing class and coding class, and the government insist that this will helpful for entire people. Personally, I strongly advocate this view. In this essay, I will discuss the reason why I think this trend would be helpful with some examples. Practical education should be more emphasized because whatever they learn through the practical way that knowledge will remain with them for a longer period. This ultimately increases the effectiveness of learning. For instance, When we are cramming a lesson for a test, our brain tends to remember it for a short while, which can be shorter than the duration of your test thus not serving the original purpose. While doing it practically, it can be in form of experiments, real-life projects, or educational trips, the knowledge and the whole learning experience stays in our mind for a long. So apart from bookish knowledge, practical education is very important for students. Moreover, practical education through vocational training boosts a student’s self-esteem, knowledge, and skills, and enhances their transition into working life. With the competition for jobs increasing, employers are now seeking to hire candidates who can demonstrate their skills rather than reeling off a list of theoretical qualifications. ‘Earn a university degree and get a job’, this formula has worked over many decades, but increasingly many fields today the formula is no longer working. For example, people who have maintained a good degree of computer literacy, especially coding a skill which cannot be obtained by conventional education, are very welcome in the job market. To conclude, it is clear that the benefits of practical learning outweigh the disadvantages, by providing more employment to people and enhancing the effectiveness of learning. Thus, the government should support this learning system.