In some countries, a few people earn extremely high salaries. Some people think that this is good for a country , while others believe government should control salaries and limit the amount people can earn. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Countries indeed do benefit from the high salaries of a select few individuals. However, there are calls for this to be revised so that all citizens get a fair salary irrespective of the job and title that they hold. In this essay, we shall discuss both sides of this coin. For starters, the natives who get paid higher remuneration, are usually the ones with the most skills, qualifications and experience. In addition to this, the higher earners are often the ones, whose workload is more hectic, and they have more risk involved because they are making big decisions, which justify a company moving in a particular direction. An example of this instance is, in Trivandrum travel agents earn a monthly wage of around INR. 20000/-, with the more senior staff earning INR. 30000/-. Alternately, a computer programmer makes a base earning of INR. 40000/-, and the more senior they become, the higher the earning go. On the other hand, if the ministry creates a standard slab concerning their citizen's earnings, one of two things will happen. Firstly, those who have the skills and the experience will move abroad to get the recognition that they feel that they deserve, which will in turn damage the economy of the country. Secondly, if there is a base earning irrespective of the job, many will then argue, why put the pain and financial and mental strain to get a degree and other qualifications, when you are getting the same wage as a delivery person? This again will affect the economy, as fewer persons will fit the market criteria, resulting in employment from other countries. In conclusion, I believe it is important to have these variations in salaries because it acts as a motivator for people to invest more into education and other technical qualifications, which will help boost the economy of a nation.