Some feel governments should invest in preserving minority languages, while others feel this is not a good use of resources. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

At present days, some people reckon that their governments should spend money on maintaining the minority languages; however, some claim that doing this is not a proper way to efficiently use resources. In my view, I believe that it is not necessary to protect these languages. On the one hand, the protection of these languages should be funded by the governments. Language is the root of cultures and customs which represent the uniqueness of the society. It is also said that the governments should do the preservation so that it maintains the community identity. To make a business, the government can also promote the community by using the unique identity obtained from the minority languages. For instance, the government can make the advertisement of community to persuade tourists to take a sight or learn these languages in the society. Finally, the government and community indirectly receive benefits from preserving the languages. On the other hand, some people believe that this preservation is a waste of money. A primary reason is that investment in the minority languages cannot provide helpful benefits to a society or a country. In other words, the government should invest in other things such as public transportation and facility to improve people’s life quality and safety instead of wasting money on taking care of the languages. For example, if the government develop a better security system together with a good transport system, people can feel safer and more comfortable while they are living in their society. Consequently, funds for public facilities more significant results in the people’s satisfaction compared to a fund for the small group of languages. In conclusion, although taking care of a small group of languages can result in protecting the identity of the community, I believe that the government should not fund these languages because it cannot result in the significance of improving people’s life quality.