Consumer goods have become the most important of people's lives. Do advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that consumer goods have become an inseparable part of our life. There are many pros and cons of this tendency. In this essay, I will shed a light on the merits and demerits of consumption goods along with stating my viewpoint. On the one hand, the usage of retail commodities brings a plethora of benefits. Firstly, the gadgets such as computers, washing machines and microwave ovens, save time. Time is money and by using these things, people are able to do their work in a very short period of time, which, on the other hand, takes long hours to be accomplished manually. For example, in homes, women put clothes into the washing machine and meanwhile they get free to do other household chores and spend their quality time with the family. Furthermore, communication is easy as well as affordable with the use of mobile phones. Undoubtedly, everyone can stay in touch with their family, relatives and friends by paying a small amount of money. Hence, relying on consumer goods, individuals feel much more comfortable. On the flip side, there are some disadvantages of retail goods. As electronics like air-conditioners, motor vehicles are responsible for environmental contamination. For example, the smoke emitted by motor vehicles such as cars, buses, trucks etcetera, contains various poisonous gases. Consequently, It leads to polluted surroundings. Moreover, when humankind depends on machines in order to get the work done, they do not involve themselves in any kind of physical activities, which may result in a variety of diseases, for example, obesity, high blood pressure, indigestion. This leads to a shorter life expectancy. To conclude, I strongly believe that there are more benefits of consumer goods in everyone's life than its drawbacks. Although these things play a crucial role to make us cosy, their negative aspects can never be ignored.