Many believe that the best way to ensure a happier society is to reduce the difference in income earnings between the rich and poor. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that wealth inequality among the population remains a serious phenomenon,especially in developing countries because it leads to several adverse social problems. While some people argue that reducing this gap can help to ensure a comfortable living in societies, I fully disagree with this view and believe that it is not an effective quick fix. On the one hand, improving the living standards of deprived persons can be a reasonable solution to ensure a good quality of growth for citizens. For example, making education affordable for all categories of the community can help the needy students to pursue their studies and therefore they will be qualified to get a job and then a good financial situation in the future. In addition, the government must provide food and other essential commodities at subsidized rates to all poor families. If implemented properly, these measures will have a positive impact on the quality of living of poor families. On the other hand, reducing the gap between poor and rich individuals is not an efficient way to have a better society. Firstly, decreasing the earning of a wealthy population can demotivate them from working hard and decline the achievement of their tasks. As a result, the companies which they work for will show a negative impact on their productivity. Secondly,by a decline of the income of rich people, the probability to leave the country to abroad will undoubtedly rise and then the society will suffer from the lack of qualified employees which can lead to the adverse effects on the growth of the economy. In conclusion, reducing the wealth gap does not seem to be an effective solution. Although it would take part in the solution, it would not ensure a comfortable life for citizens. That is why governments should help poor people by improving their quality of life and ensure to them all commodities that they need in life.