Some people believe that if a police force carries guns, this encourages a higher level of violence in that society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There is a controversial perspective heating a debate over whether guns possession by the police would contribute to the increase in the rate of violence in that community. Personally, I consider myself an opponent of this idea. It is undisputed to note that allowing police forces to carry guns is not the underlying root leading to a higher violence percentage. Since most people are frightened of guns, the police can prevent potential criminals from committing crimes. Hence, having such weapons might help the police control criminal situations without resorting to physical violence. For example, a robber intending to break into a bank has a tendency to give up as he is scared of the presence of police officers who are entitled to own guns. As a result, firearms possession does not encourage the violence level but decreases it. It is understandable to claim that police officers should be armed with guns since these weapons help them to handle the situation more effectively. In this day and age, there is a wealth of serious crimes which act as an obstacle for police forces who are just equipped with basic weapons such as electric shock. In order to be able to tackle these conditions, the police should possess a gun that is not only useful in self-defence but also helps them to prevent the law-breakers from posing dangers to the community. For example, if terrorists threaten to kill people, policemen can shot them and save the hostages. Therefore, owning a gun does wonders for the community as it helps the police protect the public. In conclusion, carrying guns on duty does no harm to public security but helps police officers to make society safer.