Experts claim that if older people do more exercise they will be healthier and happier. However, many elderly people suffer from a lack of fitness. What are the causes of this and what are some possible solutions?

With the progression of age, well-being and happiness start declining. According to the authority strength survey done in 2019. It was found that a majority of the elder suffered from energy issues both subjective and physical. In my opinion, medical geriatric experts have come to the final conclusion that social engagement and regular exercise could have good outcomes on the well-being of the older population. On the one hand, to commence, lack of strength is demonstrated over a time period. A sedentary lifestyle, improper food intake and careless habits contribute to ill disease. With the development of time, these bad habits along with a genetic predisposition result in the manifestation of diseases like hypertension and bone mineral diseases, diabetes mellitus, atherosclerosis and cardiovascular etc. On the other hand, in addition, mental well-being also takes a toll on the elderly. Older aged people who mingle less are ignored by their families most of the time. Other family members have a busy lifestyle and their interaction with the elders of the house is non-existent. On many occasions, the elderly are sent to an old age house or apartment and follow-up is not kept. This leads to a depletion of self-worth and results in deterioration of mental health which manifests as depression, anxiety and other psychological disorders. Several types of research prove that the use of brain capacity in old age improves the neuronal circuits and brain games prevent the development of dementia. Similarly, psychiatrists propose that having familiar people around, talking to loved ones, engaging in conversation and participating in social activities enhances the perception of one’s self-worth which promotes general mental well-being. As a consequence, to recapitulate, the above-given ideas prove that health and fitness are paramount, especially for the elderly and it could be achieved in a plethora of ways. As a result of this, however, it is pivotal to understand that these changes must be initiated on an individual level first among family members and added support should be provided to the elderly people to maintain their health and fitness.