Art classes, such as painting and drawing are as important to a child’s development as other subjects, so it should be compulsory in high school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is held believed that painting and drawing classes play a vital role in developing a child similar to other courses, as they must be taught to students in high schools. I certainly disagree with this statement and will explain why by fairly discussing both positive and negative aspects. On the one hand, participating in art classes, students have opportunities not only to practice drawing but also to widen their knowledge about artistry theory and history. For example, students from any schools in Vietnam are taught about the popular sculptures and statues, which were built over 150 years ago in different Dynasty, as a result, they can both study new things and likely respect the cultures and customs, leading to a level up the awareness to preserve the beauty. Additionally, it is acknowledged that art courses can help the young stimulate their creativity and foster their thinking, which is helpful for high students who force themselves to study hard for college exams. Furthermore, doing artwork seems to be an interesting entertainment tool for pupils which helps them to release stress. On the one hand, there are not many students who sign up in art universities, so it is considered that taking part in art classes wastes so much time, as it can be spent on other crucial subjects, like Math and English. That is the main reason why most high schools in Vietnam rarely organize art classes. Moreover, art teachers usually do not teach lessons clearly and carefully. If students have dreams of studying at art colleges, they will choose the cram courses outside the hall because the tutors are more professional. In conclusion, although there are significant benefits, the negative aspects of these classes cannot be overlooked, they make the young waste time and less focus on crucial subjects.