Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Nowadays, because of high competition there is no doubt that people who had long hours of work eventually leave no part- time activities. This essay will discuss both the merits and demerits of these trends before reaching an appropriate conclusion. Admittedly, working for long hours benefits only monetary terms. Due to the rising competition at work, many people tend to go for extra miles of hours to do their best in the team. That leads them to work long hours in order to go above their benchmark. Many companies offer extra pay for working overtime. For example, during the recession a year back, the government will offer double salaries to the employees working more than nine hours. On the other hand, the various drawbacks may be noted. Working for longer can lead you to burnout and stress. This will lead you to have health problems like heart attacks and panic attacks. It also limits your time to bond with your family. According to a study, people need to balance their life, working and leisure time, to have a healthy life. Additionally, it is useless to have a lot of money if you are not going to enjoy your life and spend it wisely for your own good. In conclusion, putting in too much effort and sacrifice leisure time will generate more cash. However, it will lead you to have a health problem and less time with your family. Therefore, it is necessary to weigh the benefits against drawbacks carefully before coming to a decision as to whether people should work longer hours and spend time relaxing.