In many countries imprisonment is the most common solution to crimes. However, some people believe that better education will be a more effective solution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Crime prevention is always one of the most serious issues that governments are concerned about. While it is believed that imprisonment is the most common solution, others argue that education is a better solution. In my opinion, I support both of these views and my reasons will be explained in the next paragraphs. On the one hand, better education will raise society’s awareness of ethical behaviours. This can be proved through several developed countries, which have low crime rates. During the awareness and behaviour of developing children, instead of focusing on knowledge, education prioritizes how to behave properly. At the same time, parents are also encouraged to learn courses on teaching children to avoid mistakes that might negatively affect them. For example, children having a past with abused violence tend to be addicted or behave violently and easily become juvenile crimes. In addition, in terms of adults, education providing knowledge helps them have more job opportunities to increase their income. This leads to a decrease in crime rates like robbery and theft because of a lack of money. On the other hand, the government should use imprisonment as it is an effective solution. Raising people’s awareness to combat crime problems is impossible. The authorities must have strict laws to punish crimes in society because some sectors of crime can not be dealt with by education such as financial and political criminals. Those criminals have a lot of knowledge to break the vulnerabilities of the law and the consequences are huge, some can even affect the national economy and politics. Therefore, imprisonment is the most effective way to prevent these types of crimes. In conclusion, I argue that both education and imprisonment are effective in preventing crimes. Anyway, it is the most effective solution that the authorities combine both of them.