The birth rate in most developed countries is predicted to begin to fall over the next 50 years. By 2030, it is estimated that over one third of the population in most developed countries will be aged 65 and over. What effects will these predictions have on developed countries if they prove true? What can be done to deal with this situation?

It is predicted that by the year 2030 one third of the population in most of the developed communities will be aged over 65. This would mean that the birth rate of the developed region will decline. I would like to discuss the impact that will occur due to the imbalance of the age distribution over the next 50 years which can be overcome with constructive solutions for the government to take heed. The number of economically stable communities will experience a downward trend in their labour forces and growth figures in their medical expenses owing to age imbalance. Young employees are able to contribute a significant amount of energy and time towards the growth of the economy due to their physical fitness and limited personal engagements compared to the older population. However, this decline in new births will reduce the number of young working crowd in the future. In contrast, the upward trend of 65 and over elders will pressure the governments with high medical costs in the future. As elderly people require more care and medical assistance, it will occur and additional costs on regulatory bodies to take care of them. For example, the USA ministry budget allocates almost 30% of the total budget to their eldercare programs. In my opinion, enhancing the retirement age restriction and implementing new guidelines to look after elders by their families will assist developed countries away from those circumstances. Through enhancing the working years of employees, governments could be able to increase the labour force with a considerable amount of experienced employees. For instance, the authority of the UK has increased their retirement age limit from 55 to 60 years recently to retain matured decision-makers with relevant organizations. This would reduce the number of people, who rely on government support while increasing the workforce of the country. Moreover, by implementing specific regulations to take care of elderly people by their families, regulatory bodies could reduce the cost of medical assistance for elders. In fact, being with their own families will make elders happier and healthier. In conclusion, imbalanced age distribution among the population with a significant amount of older people will limit the workforce and increase the medical budget in developing countries. Nevertheless, the government can overcome this situation by increasing the retirement age restriction and establishing new eldercare regulations with their countries.