In many countries today there are many highly qualified graduates without employment. What factors may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion, can/should be done about it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, an abundance of competent graduates found themselves in a logjam: they are not capable of finding a suitable job. One of the factors could be a lack of congruence between theoretical and practical skills of the former students or their reluctance to work by acquired profession. In this essay, I will examine why unemployment is a controversial issue among alumni and suggest a couple of possible remedies for tackling this problem. The current labour market trend does not allow graduate students to start working immediately after they finish a university. Indeed, the employers are interested in highly competent professionals that already possess sufficient practical knowledge, whereas, in reality, a considerable amount of those people did not even have a proper internship. For example, graduates in economics are required to have 2-3 years of working experience in the related field: for the majority, it is an unrealistic prospect. One of the possible solutions, however, could be an obligatory internship under the auspices of their respected universities which is going to increase their theoretical and practical knowledge. The educational institutions should work in closer cooperation with the representatives of a labour market by meeting not only their needs but also the requirements of the employees. The next point of concern is that a plethora of former students do not work in their profession. Higher education, undoubtedly, is a useful tool for the majority; on the other hand, a number of these people were forced to attain a certain degree which they did not even like. For instance, if I had had an opportunity to choose on my own, I would not have studied engineering at the Tallinn University of Technology after high school. It is of a great importance to ensure that youth would decide by themselves what type of education they want to receive, since a great deal of traditional jobs have already become irrelevant in our modern world. In conclusion, I believe it is essential to tackle the issue of unemployment among highly competent graduates since it drastically affects our societies, causing a significant number of people to miss an opportunity to build a successful career. The more opportunities a young adult has, the fewer rate of unemployed graduates will become.