Some people think that one of the best ways to solve environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuels for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

One of the most current major environmental problems is the air pollution caused mainly by vehicles exhaust fumes. It is often argued that in order to solve this problem, the government should raise the price of combustibles used by vehicles. In my opinion, I fully disagree with this view and believe that this method can be not an effective solution to this issue and there are other special measures that should be taken. On the one hand, the government should afford other convenient alternatives to use automobiles. For example, improving public transportation and making it more comfortable and affordable for individuals can be a useful idea because the capacity of public transport such as trains and buses is enormous and the number of used automobiles will decrease significantly and the CO2 emissions will decline also rapidly. In addition, the government should establish public campaigns to aware people of the harmful dangers effects of air pollution on our nature and all of them have to take part of the responsibility to protect the world by taking simple and healthy habits such as using cars only when needed and starting to walk or bike for going to work or study. On the other hand, the high cost of fuel can discourage some persons especially those who are not rich in driving. However, the main issue is that some people have unhealthy attitudes toward the environment. For instance,those wealthy individuals would, most likely, still drive cars, even if the price of fuels become expensive. Moreover, individuals who work far away from their home, would obligatory drive cars. Therefore, despite the rise of fuels, the population still use them for their vehicles. In conclusion, rising prices of combustibles do not seem to be an effective solution. Although it would alleviate the problem in some cases, it would not suffice to solve it definitively. That is why governments should consider public awareness campaigns that would help the population to understand the danger of an unhealthy environment and should make alternatives affordable and convenient.