The world is experiencing a dramatic increase in population. This is causing problems not only for poor, undeveloped countries, but also for industrialized and developing nations. Describe some of the problems that overpopulation causes, and suggest at least one possible solution.

The population in the world increases significantly, which leads to problems in undeveloped countries and industrialized and developing countries. In the following paragraphs, both effects and some sensible solutions will be presented. There are various problems which are caused by overpopulation. The impact of too many humans on the environment is generating a huge amount of waste by overconsumption of resources such as land, food, water, air, fossil fuels and minerals. To give clear examples, African countries are overpopulated; therefore, they are unable to cope with the growth of their nations’ population. Consequently, they have encountered food and water shortages, as well as inadequate basic health care services. Another example is Hongkong, where is facing a housing crisis and surging property prices stemming from having more people than its land space. Another effect is a high level of unemployment in overpopulated countries such as Thailand and India, to name a few. To tackle these issues, there are several effective ways that governments can do. Firstly, educating people how sustainability can help save natural resources on our planet to be adequate for all people. Secondly, men and women should be educated about contraception, as well as family planning programmes to mitigate unintended pregnancy. Moreover, a one-child policy can be implemented to limit one child to each family. Lastly, offering financial incentives to families with two or fewer children or allowing free education. In conclusion, overpopulated countries lead to numerous impacts on individuals, the public, and natural resources. The governments should work collaboratively with their own citizens to solve this problem by educating them about birth control and supporting a sustainable lifestyle.