Nowadays, many medical research projects are funded by private companies. In your opinion, do you think that research should be carried by private companies, individuals or government?

Governments are expanding their horizon in the medical field to get the best possible treatment of the diseases. To do so, they are allowing private companies to fund the research in the field. This essay will discuss why I think that why they should not be allowed to participate in this because of its negative impacts. Firstly, there will be a rise in the cost of treatment or medicine. Certainly, the management of these companies is more inclined to profit rather than consider human well being. So, Everyone will not be able to avail the benefit of the outcome. The current COVID-19 situation have verified this. For example the stock price of Pfizer, one of the manufacturers, is skyrocketing ever because of the higher price of vaccines. The government, therefore, had to purchase the vaccine and distribute it among underprivileged people. Another impact is the inhumane treatment of animals in the process of research. Since there will be requirements for trial on animals, they will be treated badly. Though the government had made regulations to control this, funding is controlled by private players which make it harder for countries to dictate. Recently, for instance, a privately owned research organisation was busted by the FBI, where various animals were kept in a bad condition. This is one of the institutions that got captured, there are many which were not even known and doing it. In conclusion, on the surface, a greater dependency on the private organisations for funding seems to be a positive thing but it will cause more dire consequences, particularly to the poor people in terms of improper access to the research outcome and affecting badly to the ecosystem.